Slices of the old continent - Ethiopia

  • Title: Slices of the old continent - Ethiopia
  • Artist: Brgs
  • Label: Zvocni Prepihi
  • Format: CD
  • Genres: Misc Africa, Acoustic, Folk, World
  • Price: €11,00EU (incl. 19% VAT)€9,24non-EU

"Slices of the old continent - Ethiopia: …it’s all about distorting their reality, twisting their words, distracting from the truth, exploiting their existence, but never killing their spirit… The Ethiopia remix is massacred by the glitches, distortions, compressions, raw cuts and twisted words, but the soul chanting on the recording is fighting back unbroken… Ethiopia it is part of the series Slices of the old continent, Samples originate from field recordings; recorded in different areas of Africa. The idea evolved slowly through listening to hours and hours of traditional field recordings from the African continent and becoming more and more deeply aware of the gap between the beauty of this sonic art and therefore the beauty of the souls creating it, and real life where all this beauty and souls are exposed to exploitation.

The manipulation of everyday life, the absence of peace, the exploitation of natural resources, underpaid labour – a tenet of modern capitalism, the unbridled control of the politics and the media as well as keeping this part of the world underdeveloped and highly dependent are the misdeeds we all in the Western world have a share in. Our privileges, resources and technology rely on hard labour and waging wars in order to provide for our needs and the profits of the wealthy few. Stealing and destroying has been and remains the high art of modern civilisation. It is therefore also an ingrained part of the series."

Brgs: sampling, processing
Mixed by: Brgs
Mastered by Jure Gruden
Cover design by: Brgs